Home > open-source > Open Source

Open Source

I thought I knew open source but it turns out I’m wrong. I’ve recently watched Revolution OS and read The Cathedral and the Bazaar for OSD600. I did not realize just how much of an impact Linux and red hat had in the 80’s, nor did I realize that Mozilla was a direct result of Netscape’s interaction with the open source community. I find the differences between the free software movement and the open source movement both interesting and peculiar; I was under the impression that they were essentially the same but according to Richard Stallman, open source is a compromise. But is that so bad? Life is full of compromises 🙂

I feel like I don’t know in which direction I should take this blog post and I’m almost ashamed to post it to CDOT but here goes anyway, hopefully the next one is a bit more relevant 🙂

Categories: open-source Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

